Contact Us for your Ads Here

Monday, January 15, 2018

Metro Cagayan de Oro or Not?

photo by Raphy Arcaina

Pwede na ba nato tawagon nga Metro CDO ang Cagayan de Oro? Daghan na gagamit ana nga term, when in fact dili pa angay or ready nga tawagon nga Metropolitan Area ang Cagayan de Oro City, because sa kagamay sa area sa CDO. Pwede pa siguro kung mag boom ang pipila ka Misamis Oriental municipalities then we can call Metro Misamis Oriental or if agreed by some authorities it will be named Metro Cagayan de Oro, but not when you are reffering just the CDO City area.

Just like Metro Cebu, when you say Metro Cebu, it is a metropolitan area with a total area of 1,062.88 sq. km. and a population of more than 2.8 million that consists of Cebu City (the capital of Cebu and the regional center of Central Visayas) along with twelve surrounding cities and municipalities, it comprises seven cities (Carcar, Cebu City, Danao, Lapu-Lapu, Mandaue, Naga, and Talisay) and six municipalities. Metro Cebu is almost twice the size of Metro Manila.

While Metro Manila with a total area of 619.57 sq. km. and total population of 12.9 million, it is made up of the City of Manila, the Philippine capital city, Quezon City, the country's most populous city and former capital, and the cities of Caloocan, Las Piñas, Makati, Malabon, Mandaluyong, Marikina, Muntinlupa, Navotas, Parañaque, Pasay, Pasig, San Juan, Taguig, Valenzuela and the municipality of Pateros.

Metro Davao on the other hand has a total population of 2.5 million which has a total area of 3,964.95 sq. km. that includes Davao City, Digos City in Davao del Sur province; Tagum City, Panabo City and The Island Garden City of Samal in Davao del Norte province. The metropolitan area also encompasses the two municipalities of Carmen in Davao del Norte and Santa Cruz in Davao del Sur. Maco in Compostela Valley is also being considered to be included in the metropolitan area.

According to wiki, a metropolitan area, sometimes referred to as a metro area, greater area, commuter belt or conurbation, is a region consisting of a densely populated urban core and its less-populated surrounding territories, sharing industry, infrastructure, and housing. A metro area usually comprises multiple jurisdictions and municipalities: neighborhoods, townships, boroughs, cities, towns, exurbs, suburbs, counties, districts, states, and even nations like the eurodistricts. As social, economic and political institutions have changed, metropolitan areas have become key economic and political regions. Metropolitan areas include one or more urban areas, as well as satellite cities, towns and intervening rural areas that are socio-economically tied to the urban core, typically measured by commuting patterns.

So, layo pa sa tinood ang Cagayan de Oro City, sa area pa lang which is only 412.80 sq. km. and consists of 2 districts with a total of 80 barangays lisod pa kaayo ma achieve sa CDO ang Metropolitan City title. Mas dako pa ug puruhan nga matawag ug Metro Misamis Oriental ang Province of Mismis Oriental if the municipalities of the province like Tagoloan, Opol, El Salvador, Alubijid and Laguindingan progress into a bigger urban areas. Well, those municipalities we mentioned in Misamis Oriental has the capacity that will become a progressive city sooner or later and by that time, we can then call it Metro Misamis Oriental which will cover and includes Cagayan de Oro City as the capital independent chartered city of the Metropolitan together with El Salvador City, Tagoloan (City), Opol (City), Alubijid (City), Laguindingan (City) and the rest of the municipalities of Misamis Oriental.

For now, let's just stick to the City of Cagayan de Oro, forget about the "Metro" title just yet. But who knows, by 2025 as some officials said that CDO is well on its way to becoming a metropolis. But once again, CDO needs to blend, integrate and interconnected with other highly urbanized areas  and radiate throughout around Misamis Oriental or the region, basically a commuting region in order to become a metro.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.